India on Sunday issued revised guidelines for international arrivals and new travel restrictions for those coming from 'high-risk' countries, the Omicron version of the worldwide spread of Covid-19.

Union Health Ministry in its revised guidelines for international arrivals on Sunday also said that it is mandatory for all passengers to submit travel details for 14 days and upload negative RT-PCR test results on the Air Suvidha portal before travelling.

These new rules will come into effect from 01 December 2021 and will remain in force till further orders.

The guidelines also stated that passengers from at-risk countries would be required to undergo a COVID-19 test after arrival and wait for the results at the airport.

If the test is negative then they will follow home quarantine for 7 days. Not only this, re-test will be done on the 8th day and if negative, then the passenger will have to go on self-monitor for the next 7 days.

Updated Travel Guidelines For International Passengers

1. All passengers should submit self-declaration form on online air suvidha portal ( before scheduled journey along with travel details for last 14 days.

2. Upload a negative COVID-19 RT-PCR report*. This test should have been done within 72 hours before starting the journey.

3. Every passenger shall also produce a declaration regarding the authenticity of the report and shall be liable to criminal prosecution if found otherwise.

4. They should give an undertaking through the respective airlines on the portal or otherwise to the Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India that they will abide by the decision of the appropriate government authority to undergo home/institutional quarantine before allowing them to travel. / Self-health monitoring, as required.

5. Continuing the earlier approach, travelers from certain specified countries (based on the epidemiological status of COVID-19 in those countries) are identified for additional follow-up. These include the need for additional measures as described in para (xv) below.

Travelers from designated countries at risk shall follow the protocol as detailed below:

1. Submission of sample for post-arrival COVID-19 test* at the point of arrival (self-paid). Such travellers will be required to wait for their test results at the arrival airport before leaving or taking a connecting flight.

2. If tested negative they will follow, home quarantine for 7 days. Re-test on the 8th day of arrival in India and if negative, further self-monitor of their health for next 7 days.

3. However, if such travellers are tested positive, their samples should be sent for genomic testing at INSACOG laboratory network.

4. They shall be managed at separate isolation facility and treated as per laid down standard protocol including contact tracing.

5. The contacts of such positive case should be kept under institutional quarantine or at home quarantine monitored strictly by the concerned State Government as per laid down protocol.

6. Travellers from Countries excluding those Countries at risk, will be allowed to leave the airport and shall self-monitor their health for 14 days’ post arrival. A sub-section (5% of the total flight passengers) shall undergo post-arrival testing at random at the airport on arrival.

7. The 5% of such travellers in each flight shall be identified by the concerned airlines (preferably from different countries).

8. Such travellers shall be escorted by the concerned airlines/MoCA to testing area on arrival.

9. The cost of testing of such travellers shall be borne by MOCA.


Follow us for latest travel updates on FacebookTelegramLinkedIn and Twitter

Also Read: UK News; UK Issues New Travel Guidelines Due New Omicorn Variant Of Covid-19

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post