As to prevent from the spread of the B.1617 "double mutant" variant of Covid-19 first discovered in India, Philippines President Rodrigo Duterte approved the extension of coronavirus restrictions on travellers from seven countries including India.

The Philippines government on Monday announced an extension of the ban on travellers arriving from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

President Rodrigo approves extension of restrictions on travellers from 7 countries on the recommendation of the National Task Force against covid-19.

The country barred the entry of travellers from India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Oman and the United Arab Emirates until May 31, 2021. This is to break the tranmission of infection. The "double mutant" version of B.1617 coronavirus was first discovered in India.

Reportedly by Department of Health, there are now at least 1,071 cases of the B.1.1.7 variant from the United Kingdom and 1,246 cases of the B.1.351 variant from South Africa. These have been observed to have contributed to spikes in infections in some areas.

The total confirmed cases in the Philippines are 1,230,301. The death toll rose to 20,966 after 107 more patients died of the novel coronavirus.


Follow us for latest travel updates on Facebook and Twitter

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post