Ministry of Tourism, Maldives issued updated guidelines for travellers from India and other South Asia countries including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The country had already announced that the travel restrictions imposed on South Asian tourists would be lifted from July 15, 2021 and the Maldives would resume issuing visas on arrival for tourists from those countries.

Significantly, amidst a huge spurt in cases of coronavirus in South Asian countries, Maldives has announced the suspension of tourist visas starting from 13 May, 2021.

Updated Guidelines For Tourists

Tourists travelling from South Asia will be issued Tourist Visa on Arrival and allowed to stay in tourist resorts with effect from 15 July, 2021.

Tourists from South Asia can be accommodated in guesthouses on the local islands from 30 July 2021.

Effective 8 July 2021, individuals who have fully vaccinated against coronavirus vaccine 2 weeks prior to the date of travel may be exempted from mandatory travel quarantine (within the Maldives), provided a negative PCR The test taken 72 hours before the trip has been submitted.

However, approval must be obtained through the "Halubelun Portal" and it will be ensured that none of the islands/tourist establishments concerned are in a state of surveillance prior to the visit.


Follow us for latest travel updates on FacebookTelegramLinkedIn and Twitter

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post