Philippines announced that it has extended travel restrictions on 10 countries, including India, to August 15, 2021.

Other countries in the list include Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand.

This is due to the spread of the delta variant and the rise in the number of coronavirus cases in the above country.

Giving details of the decision, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said that President Rodrigo Roa Duterte has approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF), which is currently working in 10 countries from August 1 to August 15, 2021. To increase the travel restrictions imposed in

The extended travel ban came after President Duterte expressed concern over the infectious delta variant, which was first detected in India, news agency PTI quoted the Manila Times as saying.

The country has so far reported 216 cases of the delta variant, but health experts say there could be more undetected cases due to the slow pace of the country's genome sequencing capacity.


Follow us for latest travel updates on FacebookTelegramLinkedIn and Twitter

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post