The Philippines has announced to extend its travel ban on India till August 31. Along with India, the country has banned travelers from nine other countries.

The announcement has announced after the Philippines recorded 627 new cases of infection and 11 deaths due to the Delta variant of novel coronavirus.

Harry Roque said no travellers arriving from India and nine other countries would be allowed to enter until August 31, as tuhere was a sudden spike in the delta version of the virus. The deadly second edition is plaguing most of the Southeast Asian countries.

Apart from India, Indonesia has also imposed travel restrictions on people from Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman and the United Arab Emirates. However, the nation is allowing Filipino workers to return from other countries as part of its repatriation programme.

Rising COVID-19 infections in the Philippines from the extremely dangerous Delta variant have prompted the government to impose strict lockdowns in many areas. The number of cases in the country has now reached 17,00,000.


Follow us for latest travel updates on FacebookTelegramLinkedIn and Twitter

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post