Russia announced a ban on flights to 36 countries as a measure of retaliation by European states on flights by civil aviation operated by Russian airlines or registered in Russia. This includes all 27 EU countries, including Canada and the UK.

The 36 banned countries include Albania, Anguilla, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, British Virgin Islands, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Greece, Denmark, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Jersey, Ireland, Iceland . Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

The statement from the Russian government comes after Russian airlines have been banned from entering the airspace of almost all European countries. The list also includes Jersey and Gibraltar.

Airlines from these countries will now be able to enter Russian airspace only with a special permit. Last week Russia banned all UK airlines in response to a ban on the country's major carrier Aeroflot along with all UK private jets. Then on Sunday, the European Union announced it was closing its airspace to Russian planes and all of its private jets.

The airlines are expected to suffer losses due to flight restrictions as well as increase in ticket prices due to longer detours on some routes as many airlines are already facing the huge loses due to coronavirus pendamic. Given the current situation, airlines are likely to find new routes.

The Russian Transport Agency, also known as Rosaviatsia, said flights from such countries can be allowed in exceptional circumstances only if they get special approval from the country's aviation authority or the foreign ministry.


Follow us for latest travel updates on FacebookTelegram and Twitter

Also Read: 10,000 Indian Students In Ukraine Are At High Risk ; War Can Start Anytime

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post