Several Gulf countries, including Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain and Qatar, have extended travel restrictions and announced new restrictions amid fears of a delta version of the coronavirus.


Kuwait has become the latest GCC nation to tighten travel restrictions amid the covid-19 scare. The country has banned travel abroad of unvaccinated citizens from 1 August.

The announcement comes hours after Saudi Arabia announced a three-year travel ban on citizens traveling to Red List countries.

However, Kuwait exempts children under the age of 16 and those with a health ministry certificate saying they cannot be vaccinated, as well as pregnant women who get a pregnancy certificate from the authorities.

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia has imposed a 3-year travel ban on citizens traveling to the kingdom's 'Red List' countries to prevent the spread of the coronavirus and its new forms.

Saudi Arabia has banned travel or transit in several countries, including Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, Egypt, Ethiopia, India, Indonesia, Lebanon, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam and the United Arab Emirates.


Civil Aviation Affairs has updated travel rules, expanded the number of Red List countries, and added 16 more countries to the list.

Six Asian countries India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Vietnam are already on the "red list" of travel to Bahrain.

Countries on the Red List include Dominican, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Panama, Philippines, South Africa, Tunisia, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka. and Vietnam.

Travelers passing through banned countries are required to quarantine for 14 days in non-prohibited countries except for citizens and residents of Bahrain.


Oman has extended the nightly COVID-19 lockdown and also extended the travel restrictions for travelers from several countries.

The country has already suspended the entry of travelers from 23 countries until further notice.

The countries on the Red List include Sudan, Brazil, Nigeria, Tanzania, Sierra Leone, Ethiopia, United Kingdom, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Philippines, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Tunisia, Libya, Argentina, Colombia and Brunei.

Travelers who have passed through the above countries in the last 14 days are banned from entering the Sultanate.


Passengers who have been vaccinated and approved by health authorities will not be quarantined. However, vaccinated passengers are still required to undergo a PCR test before reaching Qatar.

The new policy classifies countries into three categories - green, yellow and red. A quarantine policy for each category will apply to non-vaccinated passengers arriving in Qatar.

All passengers arriving in Qatar must pre-register on the "Ehtraaz" website and attach all required documents at least 12 hours prior to arrival.


Follow us for latest travel updates on FacebookTelegramLinkedIn and Twitter

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post